The Spiritual Vegan

raw and non raw vegan recipes

Raw Birthday Cake

with 8 comments

Me and my friends made a raw cake for Tiago’s birthday. Everyone loved it.

Raw Vegan Birthday Cake with pears, dates, and hazelnuts

Raw Vegan Birthday Cake with pears, dates, and hazelnuts

This raw vegan birthday cake was very easy to make, though a little time consuming. First we grabbed a bowl which would make a good mould for the cake – not too big unless you want to spend hours preparing dates. Then we filled it with alternate layers of dates, sliced pears, and  chopped hazelnuts.

We pitted the dates and then chopped them into rough cubes about 1/2 cm to a side. We ended up needing about 1 KG of dates for this cake.

The hazelnuts we smashed up in a coffee grinder until they were broken up but not quite flour – still crunchy and nice to bite into.

We sliced the pears quite thinly and arranged them so that they fitted together nicely in their layers. We also added a generous squeeze of lime juice so the pears wouldn’t oxidize (go brown) and also mint leaves and chopped lime zest.

We pressed the whole thing down well and when the bowl was full, we just turned it over and gave it a tap – it came out perfectly.

Finally, we adorned the birthday cake with raw walnut halves and mint leaves. Yum :)

Check out Andrew’s main blog at www.andrewgubb.com for useful and stimulating thoughts on life, spirituality, and saving the world.

Written by Princess

August 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow, that sounds delicious!!! but expensive… I’m sure everyone was thoroughly impressed! The mint leaves are a beautiful touch, I often feel like I don’t get enough mint in my life.
    Thanks for posting!

    Heather

    August 20, 2010 at 3:59 pm

  2. Not all that expensive… the dates cost us about 3.50€. I don’t know if they are costlier elsewhere..

    Thanks Heather! :)

    Andrew

    August 20, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  3. Andrew, this looks like the healthiest living birthday cafe I’ve ever seen. Wow lucky friend! It beats a cheap box of 97 cent cake mix any day.

    In Gratitude,
    Kat Duvall

    The Living Cafe

    September 28, 2010 at 7:28 pm

  4. hi Andrew, cool ideas, especially the avocado soup and the cake ;)

    Do you not update the blog anymore :( ? I reckon you should ! You could also include topics on vegan/raw foods etc.
    For example, have you read “Conscious Eating” by Gabriel Cousen ? It made me think so I switched back to a partial raw diet, and in the process, checked some of the books I had on recipes. I found that Natalia Rose wasn’t as interesting as I thought she was because she really has a thing with sweet foods and makes very complex recipes, then I found that Ani Phyo was just spot on for me because her tastes are balanced in the recipes, and she promotes simple, easily available ingredients…
    Food for thoughts my friend, hoping to read more over here soon !
    Take care !
    Luz y amor <3

    Angie

    December 2, 2010 at 11:47 am

    • Hey Angie! Thanks for the kind words :)

      I haven’t been updating the blog much recently… I guess because I’m not so big on making recipes while eating raw, I basically just eat plain fruit. Even my lettuce I just eat as is. But perhaps that’ll change as I find a level of raw in my diet that works for me; in winter it seems a little hard to do 100% (tried to force it by eating bananas, but they are crazy for me – every so often I get horribly sick from them).

      I could definitely have put up my recipe for raw fooder sushi though… I guess it’s mostly that I don’t have so much time for so many things online any more. I’m trying to update my blog at http://www.andrewgubb.com once a week, which is challenging enough sometimes…

      I should check out those raw chefs! I think I tried a chocolate cake from a recipe by Ani Phyo once, it was good :)

      Love n light <3 <3 <3

      The Spiritual Vegan

      December 2, 2010 at 12:07 pm

      • Checking out different people might give you new ideas to create recipes and be a super vegan food gourmet chef ;)
        I know there are many out there and people acclaim some and debunk others… so, I thought of you, as you write here on the topic :) (but you should dig Gabriel Cousen, he is a lot into foods & spirituality, I’m sure you’d like him and the book I wrote about in the previous post ;) )
        What have you been up to lately ? good to read you keep busy !
        See ya !

        Angie

        December 2, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    • Been having fun, writing a lot recently and doing English classes. :) How are you??

      Getting a new post out in a few minutes, probably wouldn’t have done it without your encouragement :)

      Andrew

      The Spiritual Vegan

      December 14, 2010 at 10:26 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

