The Spiritual Vegan

raw and non raw vegan recipes

The benefits of going vegan

leave a comment »

WHY GO VEGAN? is a question that could fill a book, but I’d like to create a short and sweet page about this which just outlines why I personally feel drawn to this lifestyle – something to give you the curiosity to start investigating more if you feel drawn to what I have to say.

I went vegan two years ago or so. It was originally for health reasons. I had read this post by Steve Pavlina outlining many benefits of veganism, and I think that post will be enough for many people to switch to veganism. It was for me. Losing 7 pounds in 7 days without any calorie restriction? Greater mental clarity? Yes please! Bit of a no-brainer, really.

I didn’t find quitting animal products difficult at all and I lost similar amounts of weight. People pointed it out to me. That felt really good.

I also found that I started eating greater variety in my diet, not less, when I switched to vegan. Meat, eggs, meat, eggs? That’s not very exciting at all. How about Black and white rice or Basil and horseradish salad toast? I began to really enjoy food to an extent I hadn’t expected. One of my favourite staples was the simple but magical combination of broccoli, rice and soy sauce. I made that like three days in a row sometimes. You haven’t understood how magical it is until you’ve tried it.

I was also delighted to hear the veganism is more effective in preventing global warming than giving up transport.

But the real reason I’m still vegan is because of the ethics of it. It took me a while, but having actually given up meat I had the chance to question my previous coldness towards animals. If I could love a pet, why would I kill an animal I don’t have a relationship with? Does that make sense?

Looking deeper into this, I saw videos like this one showing animals being tortured in the factories where they are reared. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Further investigation (Check out “meet the animals”) brought home to me the full force of the problem. Modern factory farming is basically the same as concentration camps for animals. I seeing remember a video on youtube of a baby pig being castrated without painkillers, and crying, just lying on my bed and crying over my laptop.

I know this stuff is hard to hear, it was very hard for me to hear and took a long time for me to face it. And I respect your free will to do whatever you want to do with your life, so long as you’ll accept the consequences. But I do think it’s worth shining a spotlight on this stuff, because most people would NOT eat meat or animal products if they were forced to see what goes on behind the scenes. Are you facing the truth? Or are you hiding from it?

Nowadays I feel a lot more connected with people and with animals and even plants (yes, I wish I didn’t have to kill plants, but we do our best. Meat, at least, is not necessary). I feel that I couldn’t be so connected if I still filled my body with dead animals every day. It’s basically saying, “No, I don’t want to feel connection”. Loving some things but not others is inconsistent and doesn’t really work. My spiritual and psychic gifts are growing rapidly, and I feel very strong and happy at the moment. I think veganism was an important step in my path towards the light.

Check out Andrew’s other site, Lightworkers‘ Connection, if you consider yourself to be a highly conscious individual. You know there is more to life than meets the eye. You are not alone.

Written by Princess

January 22, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

