The Spiritual Vegan

raw and non raw vegan recipes

Raw bread

with 7 comments

I’m thinking seriously about going raw again. If you didn’t know, the raw food diet is an extremely healthy diet, which has been known to cure a load of diseases often considered incurable, including diabetes, and provide a great amount of energy and wellbeing. I currently eat a large amount of raw food, with the special help of my lovely juicer ❤

I was raw for six months: there were two reasons why I stopped. One was that I ate too much fresh fruit, which I think my system disagrees with in large amounts. The 80/10/10 diet – high-fruit – is notorious for being difficult to sustain. I was a bit ambitious.

The other reason was seemingly superficial, but it really mattered for me. I had no way of making sandwiches. I really couldn’t stand this, somehow.

But, I think I worked this out now. Raw bread – I’ve made it, and it is Good.

The sandwich contains avocado, tomato, onion, and broccoli sprouts. I might be going too far to call this a "raw vegan hamburger" but it was DAMN good. And probably the healthiest meal I've had in my life, if it weren't for the fact that I snacked on some nacho chips right after... heheh. 🙂

Ingredients: dried figs. Just figs 🙂

In Spain the right figs for this recipe are called “turkish figs”, I don’t know about in other countries. Basically what you have to look for is that they are not covered in white dust – that is wheat flour, and it’s very unhealthy raw. Turkish figs as they are sold here have another benefit in that they are sold flattened already – if you can’t find them like that you will need to get them flat by your own efforts.

So, the idea is to just cut the figs in half down the middle and lay them down, a layer of one to two figs, overlapping, every one skin-upwards, on a board.

Get a hammer, a paperweight or a pestle (I used a pestle, that thing you use to crush spices in a bowl with) and bash them until they stick together. You don’t have to work too hard on this, just having them stick roughly is enough.

You can then fold them over so that the skins are on both sides of the bread, making it fairly dry and non-sticky to handle – now make some sandwiches!

I’m working on finding out new recipes for raw bread. Dates, dried apple, nuts, carrot, and sprouts, particularly sprouted grains, are all contenders for the ingredients. I will keep you in the know if I find another great recipe!

I hope you enjoy

Andrew

Update:

I tried this another time since putting up this recipe and found a more methodical way of doing it: place figs on the board, touching each other but not overlapping, in a configuration of say 2 x 10, which will fold over to make a bread of 2 x 5.

e.g. :::::::::: (imagine the dots are figs)

Now place figs in the MIDDLE of each group of four figs along the line. These extra figs will be what holds the bread together. The final result is quite neat and attractive.

Check out Andrew’s other site, Lightworkers‘ Connection, if you consider yourself to be a highly conscious individual. You know there is more to life than meets the eye. You are not alone.

Written by Princess

January 24, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am considering going vegan, I know little about it,but saw a cook on tv showing some meals, and they looked really good.Do you think this is a good starting place for someone looking to improve their health? The book he has is the consious cook by Ron Ronnen.

    tuesdaytwo

    January 24, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    • Hi Tuesday 🙂

      I checked that book out and it looks way cool. Yeah, this could be an excellent way to start out improving your health. In the about page on this site I link to three articles about going vegan, which should be a help, too. It’s good to get a lot of input, a lot of different sources of information, when you’re interested in making a change.

      Good luck,

      Andrew

      The Spiritual Vegan

      January 26, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    • This is a very interesting idea! I assume it feels like a sandwhich, but doesn’t the sweet taste throw it off? Figs is just not something I can find around here sadly…

      Hi tuesdaytwo! I’ve been a vegan for a few months and I absolutely love it! I used to be a super picky eater and knew nothing about cooking, and now I practically live in the kitchen and I enjoying almost anything I try. Going vegan is a very healthy way to change your diet, that is, if you stay away from heavily processed foods that are meant to look and taste like meat, and snacks that are loaded with sugar or artificial sweeteners!

      Besides B12 which only comes from animal products, you can get all the nutrients you need by eating a healthy balanced vegan diet. Focus on beans, whole grains (take a break from wheat and try oats, spelt, kamut, rye, quinoa, brown rice etc…), fruits (and not fruit juices), vegetables, nuts and nut butters, and seeds. Eating healthy definitely doesn’t have to be bland and boring!

      If you’d like some recipes and tips on eating a healthy vegan diet, visit my blog http://nocrapdiet.wordpress.com

      Hope this helps!

      Kate

      January 28, 2010 at 12:39 am

      • Hi Kate – you don’t get figs round there? Wierd! :p I find that the sweetness of the figs isn’t such a problem for the recipe. It’s sweet but not cloying, and it works with the savoury ingredients.

        Isn’t it great how going vegan makes you enjoy cooking and eating more? 🙂

        Andrew

        The Spiritual Vegan

        February 2, 2010 at 10:18 am

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Casey RawAndFit, The Spiritual Vegan. The Spiritual Vegan said: The holy grail of raw foodism: a sandwich made of raw bread https://thespiritualvegan.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/raw-bread/ […]

  3. […] Leave a Comment I had a raw meal today, consisting of avocado and red pepper on fig bread (pictured) and a pint-glass of a fresh vegetable juice made out of… pretty much everything I […]

  4. […] veg). So I asked the Universe for a sign. I asked for the special sort of figs I used to make raw bread, which I hadn't found anywhere since moving to Bilbao. This wasn't a trivial thing as I'd made a […]


Leave a Reply

