The Spiritual Vegan

raw and non raw vegan recipes

The Gourmet Vegan

with 2 comments

The other day I made an ultra refined dinner for me and my lady – four different dishes with different mixes of herbs and spices, made to blend together on the plate. I was in the flow, there was just nothing else around but what I was doing – I love those moments.

I write this page more in the spirit of sharing a piece of art than exactly as a step-by-step recipe. I feel overwhelmed by the idea of getting the exact quantities of everything up here for you – when I was making the dishes I was doing it all by eye and I definitely wasn’t thinking about writing a recipe later. So take this as inspiration, not instruction.

The top left dish was sweet potato, chopped in fine strips to match the strips of red and green pepper. The volume was 1/2 pepper of both sorts and 1/2 sweet potato. I added 1 and 1/2 cloves of garlic, nice and strong.

Top centre is brown rice boiled together with fresh rosemary leaves and two tablespoons of soaked poppy seeds.

Right is a dish made of sprouted chickpeas, chopped in about rough halves to quarters, fried up with the same volume of spring onions, chopped. I also added black pepper, an almost unnoticeable touch of cayenne pepper, and lemon peel.

Bottom is a sauce I created to mix with the other dishes, especially the rice. It was thickened with oats, because we don’t eat wheat and that is what I could find in the way of starch – it worked very well, and I’d do it again. I just boiled up a couple of teaspoons of oats in water and blended. Then I added quite finely chopped green beans, a lot of soy sauce, a tablespoon of honey, the juice of a whole lemon (strong flavour), some dried basil and a bunch of chopped up fresh coriander (cilantro). It was delicious, though I got the salt a little too strong on this one.

Served with red wine, naturally 🙂

The whole meal was an experience. Sitting there afterwards felt a bit like laying in bed after sex 😉

Andrew

Check out Andrew’s other site, Lightworkers‘ Connection, if you consider yourself to be a highly conscious individual. You know there is more to life than meets the eye. You are not alone.

Written by Princess

February 2, 2010 at 9:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My, what a fine dish! =3

    “Inspiration rather than instruction” – I like that. I know what you mean, although I tend to measure my ingredients so that if it turns out really tasty, I can make it precisely the same way the next time, as well as share the recipe with others. But sometimes it’s nice to just grab for whatever ingredients and quantities and go wild with experimentation, without stopping the flow every few seconds to jot things down.

    And I know what you mean about the satisfying feeling after such a delicious meal, haha. Every time I think of something like my ABC pudding, I remember the feeling of my serotonin levels skyrocketing into oblivion.

    Keep up with the awesome cooking inspirations!

    Kate

    Kate

    February 2, 2010 at 6:07 pm


Leave a Reply

