The Spiritual Vegan

raw and non raw vegan recipes

Raw sandwich and raw chocolate spice date cake

with 4 comments

I had a raw meal today, consisting of avocado and red pepper on fig bread (pictured) and a pint-glass of a fresh vegetable juice made out of… pretty much everything I could find (not pictured… it was ugly).

Avocado on raw bread - with a bite out of it, because I couldn't wait to make the picture.

Raw bread is absolutely delicious, and it really does seem to fill my desire for something “bready” with my avocados. I can’t wait to try it with raw tahini and almond butter, plus interesting salads, guacamoles, what have you. I even have some sprouted chickpeas I might make a raw hummus out of – though I’m not 100% raw yet, so this would be just for fun (I know…).

Afterwards I made myself a new, one-serving date cake very quickly to have with my tea before getting back to work, because I’m worth it:

Raw chocolate spice date cake

Here’s an inspiration-not-instruction ingredient list. For instructions on how to make a date cake, click here.

Dates

Large amount of cocoa – I used a heaped teaspoon for this small patty and it was just perfect

Almonds

Generous amount of ginger

A fair note of cinnamon

Orange peel (served on top – originally for the sake of a pretty photo, but it was delicious – add a bit more than I did).

That was lovely 🙂 I’m conscious, though, that cocoa isn’t the healthiest thing in the world… I felt a bit irritated in the stomach and low in energy after. Sucks. The same for the tea. I’ve been meditating in my food and how it makes me feel, and often what my mind thinks I should want my body doesn’t; I think I’ll bit by bit be cutting down on tea and chocolate, just as I’m cutting down on cooked food. (Coffee, another caffeine-containing irritant, is long gone from my diet. Love the flavour but my body rebels).

Andrew

Check out Andrew’s other site, Lightworkers‘ Connection, if you consider yourself to be a highly conscious individual. You know there is more to life than meets the eye. You are not alone.

Written by Princess

February 4, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you ever tried carob? It’s wonderful. No caffeine and not hard on the stomach like chocolate, for most people. I use it regularly in my healthy vegan video recipes and can’t seem to get enough of it.

    Heather

    February 7, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    • Yeah, I’ve tasted it, though I haven’t experimented with it at all in the kitchen. I should, perhaps it would help me out of my chocolate craving 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

      The Spiritual Vegan

      February 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm

  2. Cocoa gets a lot of praise but I’m not into the whole superfoods thing… That doesn’t stop me from loving cocoa though! It seems to digest fine in my system. Carob is a nice substitute in some recipes, but obviously the flavor is different – It doesn’t make things as decadent and full-flavor as cocoa.

    I love the idea of mixing cocoa with orange. I just bought some delicious organic tangelos so I’ll definitely experiment with that when I get the chance.

    Kate

    February 12, 2010 at 6:38 am

    • Never tried Terry’s Chocolate Orange? 🙂 It’s a great combination. Enjoy!

      I don’t really believe in superfoods either. I know cocoa at least doesn’t do me any good. I tried goji berries and didn’t feel anything special. *shrug* I think it’s mostly marketing hype.

      Hugs, I’ll get replying to your email now

      Andrew

      Andrew

      February 12, 2010 at 7:56 am


Leave a Reply

